The Compulsive Confessor: Too personal or just honest?

As quite evident, I am still struggling with actuating my idea of writing more regularly for the blog. Part of the problem perhaps is that I do not allow my writing to come too close to me. Although I am engaged with the world but do not want the world to engage back with me. So, I perpetually remain an outsider inside, which is why my writing here lacks that ‘personal’ touch. Not that it’s some kind of an inviolable, self-preservation rule that I would only write the world away from me and never ‘into me’, but only when there is something worth writing about. My regular life may not really as interesting to others as, that of, say, Mr. Bachchan or Meenakshi Reddy Madhavan (The Compulsive Confessor).

Blogging is about reaching out to the world and sharing with your readers what you think is worth talking about and sometimes your life itself could be interesting enough or your particular outlook to the life around you, in which case you don’t need to be Amitabh Bachchan to be read and appreciated. Meenakshi’s blog is a case in point.

There has been a great amount of debate on her extremely personal blog, and about the unabashed confessional tone that it has. So much so that NDTV had a talk show hosted by Barkha Dutt with Meenakshi on it alongside other experts discussing the issue as to whether blogs should be regulated or not.

I don’t think I would say much about her blog and writing here. Suffice it to say that I am not one of her fans. And though I might have certain old-fashioned reservations about turning one’s personal life into an open circus, but writing about personal experiences itself is perfectly alright to my mind. Explicit details about one’s intimate self, too, are not all that outrageous. That’s part of the freedom one has on one’s blog. Whether your blog becomes a serious read or an entertainment page or erotica corner is entirely up to you. You choose your material and your readers, and your readers would respond.

Leave a Reply

